Currently
Manuel Roland is nominated to the Magritte 2017 in the best original music category for the Soundboard of Parasol by Valery Rosiez, which he co-wrote with Cyrille de Haes. This soundtrack received in 2016 a SABAM AWARDS.
His work
No post was found with your current grid settings. You should verify if you have posts inside the current selected post type(s) and if the meta key filter is not too much restrictive.
Bio

Manuel Roland is a composer, songwriter and self-taught multi-instrumentalist born in 1978. Since he was a teenager, his love of music has evolved from jazz, to Balkans music, North African music, French chanson, pop, rock and finally film music.

Today, all these influences enhance his poetic qualities and his innate feeling for melody. Interested in each stage of creation, from the writing to the final mixing, he plays and records most parts of his music. His work could be compared to a sophisticated and harmonious do-it-yourself job.

He has composed music for numerous short films and documentaries, in particular the B.O. of “Démocratie Année Zéro” about the Arab Spring in Tunisia. In 2015, he signed the score for “L’année prochaine” a film by Vania Leturcq that won a long list of awards at various festivals. His music is praised for embodying the film’s themes and for its aptness. Very recently, he co-composed the music for “Parasol” a film by Valéry Rosier, that has just been released. A very subtle trailer that highlights the film and its enticing minimalism.

Manuel Roland also plays the saxophone in the Belgistan brass band.

His music
At General Score
Manuel Roland is a gentle poet, a quiet force with free creativity. In his cozy studio, surrounded by an array of vintage synths and guitars, he shapes, trills and bonuses the soundtrack on his note jug workbench. He is the melodist and textured craftsman of General Score.
The world of Manuel Roland
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch

Actuellement

Manuel Roland est nominé aux Magritte 2017 dans la catégorie meilleure musique originale pour la BO de Parasol, de Valery Rosiez, qu’il a coécrite avec Cyrille de Haes.  Cette BO a reçu en 2016 un SABAM AWARDS.

Manuel a également composé en 2016 la musique du documentaire de Christophe Cotteret « INKOTANYI » sur le génocide du Rwanda (Sélectionné à Berlin et produit par ARTE/RTBF).

Cette année, il composera la musique du premier long de Guérin Van De Vorst en collaboration avec l’excellent musicien flamand Marteen Van Cauwenberghe.

Son travail

Bio

Manuel Roland est un compositeur, parolier, et multi-instrumentiste autodidacte né en 1978. Dès son adolescence, il se passionne tour à tour pour le jazz, les musiques des Balkans, d’Afrique du Nord, la chanson française, la pop, le rock, et enfin la musique pour le cinéma.

Son univers poétique et son sens inné de la mélodie s’enrichissent aujourd’hui de toutes ces influences.  Curieux de chaque étape de la création, de l’écriture au mixage final, il joue et enregistre la plupart des parties de ses morceaux.  Son travail pourrait ainsi s’apparenter à un bricolage musical perfectionné, un do-it-yourself mélodieux.

Il a composé pour de nombreux courts-métrages et documentaires, notamment la B.O. de « Démocratie Année Zéro » relatif aux débuts du printemps arabe en Tunisie.  En 2015, il signe la partition de « L’année prochaine » de Vania Leturcq qui a remporté un longue liste de récompenses en festivals.  Sa musique est saluée pour faire corps avec les enjeux du film et pour son sens de la justesse.  Tout récemment, il a co-écrit la musique de « Parasol » de Valéry Rosier, qui vient de sortir.  Une bande originale tout en finesse venant illuminer un film au minimalisme charmeur.

Manuel Roland est également saxophoniste dans la Fanfare du Belgistan.

Son site web

Sa musique

Chez General Score

Manuel Roland est un poète débonnaire, une force tranquille doté d’une créativité libre.  Dans son studio cosy, entouré d’une panoplie de synthés et guitares vintage, il façonne, triture et désosse  la trame sonore sur son établi de jongleur de notes.  C’est l’artisan mélodiste et texturé de General Score.

Envoyer un message

L’univers de Manuel Roland

Tous
Showreel
Musicien
Studio
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch