Currently
Michel is currently composing the music of Cinekino, an ARTE series of 10 documentaries on European cinema by Laurent Heynemann and Matthias Luthard.

He is the author of the music for the upcoming film by Thierry Michel and Pascal Colson, Les enfants du hasard – Children of chance, which will be released in March.

Michel has composed and coordinated the soundtrack for Terra Masonica, a feature-length documentary by Tristan Bourlard, produced by Nexus Factory (coming soon).

He is on the RTBF for the animated series Petit Poilu, which he assembles the music composed by Emilie Gassin and Benjamin Violet during all this season.

And to stay on the same channel, he will compose with Thierry Plas the music of Unité 42, the next series RTBF produced by Left Field Ventures and realized by Indra Siera.

His work
Bio

The shortest route is not always the most direct one. It took 40 years for Michel to realise that film music was his vocation. But what a vocation !

After a childhood bathed in classical music, he discovered rock music at the age of 20 and abandoned his studies in economics to set up a recording studio. Between doing odd jobs to earn a living and some acting jobs, he became involved in community groups where he developed his innate skills in organisation and management. He discovered improvisation, did a few plays and gradually moved away from music.

But the call of Apollo pursued him. Music caught up with him by chance in 2010 when he was doing a play and the stage director asked him to do the sound design. This was like a delayed but irresistible flash of lightning that made him drop everything he was doing and assume a passion he thought was extinguished.

His experience in theatre had developed a very pronounced taste for narration and narrative techniques. He is familiar with the pace and atmosphere of stories, visual textures and sounds, the notion of irony, tragedy, burlesque, etc. He is able to support words with music and stay focussed on the intention.

Within a few years, his inexhaustible eagerness and tireless quest for precision has enabled him to turn his late career into an advantage. He has recently produced music for films by Stéphane De Groodt, Thierry Michel and Patrick Ridremont.

His music
At General Score
Michel Duprez prints his compositions with a very personal paw infused with symphonic notes, rock and pop. His obvious appeal for film music and his acting career make him particularly attentive to meaning and narration. He is also an empathic coordinator, and one of the pillars of General Score.
The world of Michel Duprez
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch

Actuellement

Michel compose en ce moment la musique de Cinekino, une série ARTE de 10 documentaires sur le cinéma Européen réalisée par Laurent Heynemann et Matthias Luthard.

Il est l’auteur de la musique du prochain film de Thierry Michel et Pascal Colson, Les enfants du hasard qui sort en mars prochain.

Michel a composé et assuré la coordination de la BO sur Terra Masonica, long-métrage documentaire de Tristan Bourlard, produit par Nexus Factory (sortie prochaine).

Il est à l’affiche sur la RTBF pour la série animée Petit Poilu, dont il assure le montage des musiques composées par Emilie Gassin et Benjamin Violet pendant toute cette saison.

Et, pour rester sur la même chaîne, il composera avec Thierry Plas la musique de Unité 42, la prochaine série RTBF produite par Left Field Ventures et réalisée par Indra Siera.

 

Son travail

Bio

Le chemin le plus efficace n’est pas toujours le plus direct. Il aura fallu 40 ans à Michel pour s’apercevoir que la musique de film était sa vocation. Mais quelle vocation.

Au sortir d’une enfance baignée de musique classique, il découvre le rock à 20 ans et abandonne les sciences éco pour monter un studio d’enregistrement. Entre boulots alimentaires et prestations de comédien, il s’investit dans le milieu associatif où il développe ses capacités innées d’organisateur et de gestionnaire. Il découvre l’impro, joue quelques pièces de théâtre et s’éloigne insensiblement de la musique.

Mais les sirènes d’Apollon ne l’abandonnent pas. De hasards en coïncidences, la musique le rattrape en 2010 à l’occasion d’une pièce de théâtre dont le metteur en scène lui propose de faire le décor sonore.  Un coup de foudre aussi tardif qu’impérieux, qui l’incite à tout envoyer valser et à assumer une passion qu’il croyait éteinte.

Entre-temps, ses expériences au théâtre ont développé chez lui un goût prononcé de la narration et de ses techniques. Il est familier avec le rythme d’une histoire, son atmosphère, les textures visuelles et sonores, la notion de second degré, le tragique, le burlesque… Il sait tenir musicalement un propos et garder le cap de l’intention.

En quelques années, une soif intarissable et un goût acharné pour le travail précis lui ont permis de faire de son début de carrière tardif un atout. Il a signé récemment des musiques pour les films de Stéphane De Groodt, Thierry Michel et Patrick Ridremont.

Son site web

Sa musique

Chez General Score

Michel imprime ses compositions d’une patte toute personnelle imprégnée de notes symphoniques, rock et pop.  Son attrait évident pour la musique de film et son parcours de comédien le rendent particulièrement attentif au sens et à la narration.  C’est aussi un coordinateur empathique, et l’une des chevilles ouvrières de General Score dont il est cofondateur.

Envoyer un message

L’univers de Michel Duprez

Tous
Showreel
Musicien
Studio
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch