Currently
Yves has just finished the composition of Terra Masonica, the documentary of Tristan Bourlard produced by Nexus Factory, within the collective of General Score.
His work
Bio
After obtaining a diploma in piano and composing from the Royal Conservatory of Mons, Yves started his musical career at the age of 17 as a bar pianist and then, when he was 19, he joined the Mons Academy of Music and Spoken Arts as a piano teacher. As well as becoming one of the youngest music academy directors in Wallonia, he was awarded the first prize in the jazz-piano section at the Conservatory of Brussels. At the same time, he became a piano teacher at the Mons Academy of Arts (ARTS²) and set an improvisation class of which he is the current teacher. These two careers intersect in the projects he undertakes – he can be both a musician and a teacher and sometimes these projects are exceptional. For example, he works with the Arthouse Cinema “Le Plaza” in Mons: every year since 2005, the improvisation classes have moved into the cinema to produce live music for the silent films screened there. Over the years, they have accompanied all genres of silent films, from naturalism to burlesque.

This brilliant pianist, composer and orchestrator has taken part in many projects involving jazz, classical and variety, unashamedly mixing up genres. He is also a producer, sound engineer, musical director and scenarist and is considered an eclectic, insatiable and passionate magician.

Currently working as a co-composer for an animated television series called “Géronimo Stilton”, he has developed a film music production tool that combines the best of both worlds: digitally produced music (virtual instruments) and acoustic music (real instruments).

His music
At General Score
Yves Gourmeur is a pianist, composer, arranger, orchestrator, producer and conductor, as skilled in classical harmonies as brilliant in jazz (notably Big Band), a living encyclopedia with absolute ears. Invaluable music.
The world of Yves Gourmeur
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch

Actuellement

Yves vient de terminer la composition de Terra Masonica, le documentaire de Tristan Bourlard produit par Nexus Factory, au sein du collectif de General Score.

Il est à l’affiche de la série d’animation Geronimo Stilton, diffusée cette saison sur la RTBF et distribuée dans plus de 40 pays.

Son travail
Bio

Diplômé du conservatoire royal de Mons en piano et écritures, Yves a commencé sa carrière de musicien à 17 ans comme pianiste de bar pour rejoindre ensuite à 19 ans l’Académie de musique et des arts parlés de Mons comme professeur de piano. Tout en devenant l’un des plus jeunes directeurs d’académie de musique en Wallonie, il obtient un premier prix de piano-jazz au conservatoire de Bruxelles. Parallèlement, il devient chargé de cours de piano à l’école des arts de Mons (ARTS²) et crée un cours d’improvisation dont il est actuellement le titulaire.  Ces deux carrières, musicien et pédagogue, se croiseront au fil de ses projets souvent hors norme.  Il collabore par exemple avec le Cinéma d’arts et d’essais « Le Plaza » à Mons :  chaque année depuis 2005, les classes d’improvisation envahissent le cinéma pour produire en «live» la musique d’un film muet projeté.  Du naturalisme au burlesque, tous les genres du muet sont ainsi abordés au fil des ans.

Pianiste, compositeur et orchestrateur brillant, il a participé à de nombreux projets dans le domaine du jazz, du classique et de la variété, en décloisonnant les genres sans complexe.  Egalement producteur, ingénieur du son, directeur musical et scénariste, il est considéré comme un magicien, touche-à-tout, insatiable et passionné.

Actuellement co-compositeur pour la série animée télévisée « Géronimo Stilton »,  il a développé un outil de production, pour la musique de film, qui allie le meilleur des deux mondes : musique produite par ordinateur (instruments virtuels) et musique acoustique (instruments réels).

Dû à des copyrights stricts interdisant une diffusion sur le web avant les diffusions salles/télévisions, il est possible de voir le travail de composition à l’image actuel de Yves  (Dessins animés, Court-métrages, etc) sur demande : yves.gourmeur@gmail.com

Sa musique
Chez General Score
Compositeur, arrangeur, orchestrateur, producteur et chef d’orchestre, aussi compétent en harmonies classiques que brillant en jazz (notamment Big Band), encyclopédie vivante dotée de l’oreille absolue, Yves apporte au groupe une science de la musique inestimable.

L’univers de Yves Gourmeur

Tous
Showreel
Musicien
Studio
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch