Currently
Tim has just completed the composition of Terra Masonica, a feature-length documentary by Tristan Bourlard produced by Nexus Factory, within the collective of General Score.
His work
Bio

Tim GOUVERNEUR was born in 1983 in Montignies-Sur-Sambre (Charleroi). He came from a scientific background and studied physics at the University of MONS-HAINAUT until 2005. However, music diverted him from his scientific studies. This self-taught musician took his first steps in electronic music. He went to the Royal Conservatory of Mons where he followed the classes given by C. Ledoux, G. Gobert, V. Kissine, and J-P. Deleuze.

He has composed many pieces of music. The most important ones include a cycle of dances for piano, “Le Petit Dancing en Bois” (sextuor), “Danse Insomniaque for 13 Instruments”, “Les Oreilles de Midas” (for large ensembles), “La Danse d’Aristophane” (for seven instruments) and numerous miniatures for all types of groups. He was awarded a prize at the ninth Rencontres Internationales de Compositions Musicale in Cergy-Pontoise for a piece for soprano and ensemble on a poem by A. Chedid.

In 2012, he took part in the ArsMusica Festival where “Danse Insomniaque for 13 instruments” was played by Musiques Nouvelles, an ensemble conducted by J-P. Dessy. In 2013, his piece “Lapsus” was played at the VIA Festival in Mons. In the same year, his “Dances for Piano for Four Hands” was played in a series of concerts given by N. Momitani and T. Honda.

Since 2014, he has reconnected with his earlier inspirations and re-immersed himself in electronic music without losing sight of the world of contemporary music. A series of concerts is scheduled for 2016 with pieces for piano.

Linked in...
His music
At General Score
In the course of Tim Gouverneur, first scientifically accomplished, self-taught musician and then trained at the grandes écoles, we can detect a form of strange and interesting shine. Combining his conscious structure with a very fine intuition, mixing in an unlikely cauldron the Gregorian chant, the dodecaphony and the techno, Tim brings to the group the genius of his own.
Send a mail
The world of Tim Gouverneur
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch

Actuellement

Tim vient de terminer la composition de Terra Masonica, long-métrage documentaire de Tristan Bourlard produit par Nexus Factory, au sein du collectif de General Score.

Son travail

Bio

Tim GOUVERNEUR est né en 1983 à Montignies-Sur-Sambre (Charleroi). De formation scientifique, il poursuit des études de physique à l’Université de MONS-HAINAUT jusqu’en 2005. Mais la musique le détourne de ses études scientifiques. Autodidacte complet, c’est dans le milieu de la musique électronique qu’il fait ses premiers pas. Il entre au Conservatoire Royal de Mons, où il suit les cours de C. Ledoux, G. Gobert, V. Kissine, et J-P. Deleuze.

Il est l’auteur de nombreuses pièces. Les plus importantes sont un cycle de danses pour piano, « le petit dancing en bois » (sextuor), une « danse insomniaque pour 13 instruments », « les oreilles de Midas » (pour grand ensemble), « la danse d’Aristophane » (pour sept instruments), et d’innombrables miniatures pour toutes sortes de formations. Il a notamment été lauréat des 9èmes rencontres internationales de compositions à Cergy-Pontoise avec une pièce pour soprano et ensemble sur un poème d’A. Chedid.

Il participe en 2012 au festival ArsMusica où « Danse Insomniaque pour 13 instruments » fut jouée par l’ensemble Musiques Nouvelles dirigé par J-P. Dessy. En 2013 sa pièce « Lapsus » est jouée au festival VIA à Mons. La même année, ses « Danses pour piano à 4 mains » sont jouées dans une série de concerts donnée par N. Momitani et T. Honda.

Depuis 2014, il renoue avec ses premières inspirations et se replonge dans la musique électronique en ne perdant pas de vue le monde de la musique contemporaine. Une série de concerts est prévue pour 2016 avec des pièces pour piano.

Sa musique

Chez General Score

Dans le parcours de Tim, d’abord scientifique accompli, musicien autodidacte puis formé aux grandes écoles, on peut déceler une forme de brillance étrange et interpellante.  Alliant sa structure consciente à une intuition très fine, mélangeant dans un chaudron improbable les chant grégoriens, la dodécaphonie et la techno, Tim apporte au groupe le génie qui lui est propre.

L’univers de Tim Gouverneur

Tous
Showreel
Musicien
Studio
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch