Currently
Thierry Plas will compose the music of Unité 42, in co-writing with Michel Duprez. This RTBF series, currently in filming, is produced by Left Field Ventures and realized by Indra Siera.
His work
Bio

Thierry Plas was born in 1959 in Uccle (Brussels). His mother was a draughtswoman and his father a creative director of advertising and an artist. He started playing the guitar at the age of 12. He finished his studies at INRACI and obtained a diploma in photography.

But music had fascinated him for a long time and, at the age of 20, after only one year as a commercial photographer, he joined the Belgian progressive-rock group called Machiavel and encouraged it to become more rock-oriented. This is evident in the European hit “Fly” and the album “New Lines”. There followed numerous concerts and albums recorded in Europe and the United states.

In 1985, Thierry Plas also became a studio guitarist, working with many composers and various artists ranging from Vladimir Cosma to Billy Preston. He also worked as a studio and stage guitarist with Beverly Jo Scott and Pierre Rapsat.

As he has always been very interested in music for images, he started to compose and produce music for advertising commercials, thanks to the trust placed in him by Michel Perin and Patrick Van Hautem (among others) who are directors and producers at Zabriskie Films (Made In Brussels). This was a new and very challenging job that led him to develop many other musical styles and work on harmony.

In 1994, at the same time as creating ZOO Productions and setting up his recording studio, Thierry Plas formed “The Responsibles”, a group that released one album and was chosen by Led Zeppelin’s Robert Plant and Jimmy Page to support them during the first part of their European Tour.

While continuing to develop his production company “Son Sur Image”, Thierry Plas became musical director of Vaya Con Dios for the 1997 European Tour and in 2000 he released an album called “Purple Prose” with Dani Klein, Vaya’s singer.

In the 2000s, he started working on documentaries and other corporate films and developed his skills as a “sound designer” which he really enjoyed.

These days, Thierry Plas continues to produce sound identifications for the radio (Classic 21 for example) and film music. He also produces and mixes albums for selected artists. A new recording and theatrical project will be presented at the end of 2016, in collaboration with Patrick Riguelle, a singer and musician who is very popular in the north of the country.

His website
His music
At General Score
Thierry Plas is the fine blade of General Score, a goldsmith of sound matter, whose immense experience brings together all the domains of musical creation: composition, arrangement, orchestration, recording, mixing, mastering, relationship to the image. Loving the finesse and the elegance British, it is in the group as composer as master-producer.
Send a mail
The world of Thierry Plas
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch

Actuellement

Thierry Plas va composer la musique de Unité 42, en co-écriture avec Michel Duprez.  Cette série RTBF, actuellement en tournage, est produite par Left Field Ventures et réalisée par Indra Siera.

Thierry est en ce moment occupé à la refonte de l’habillage sonore de Classic 21.

On le verra prochainement à l’affiche de Terra Masonica, dont il vient de terminer la composition au sein du collectif de General Score.  La sortie de ce long-métrage documentaire de Tristan Bourlard produit par Nexus Factory est annoncée courant 2017.

Son travail

Bio

Thierry Plas est né en 1959 à Uccle (Bruxelles), de mère dessinatrice et de père directeur créatif en publicité et artiste peintre.  Il commence à pratiquer la guitare vers l’âge de 12 ans.  Il terminera ses études à l’INRACI et sera diplômé en photographie.

Mais la musique le taraude depuis longtemps, et après seulement 1 ans de vie professionnelle comme photographe publicitaire, à 20 ans, il intègre le groupe belge Machiavel qu’il détourne de son orientation progressive-rock en lui donnant une direction plus rock.  Le hit européen « Fly »  et l’album « New Lines » en sont la preuve.  Suivront de nombreux concerts et albums enregistrés en Europe et aux Etats-Unis.

A partir de 1985, Thierry Plas devient également un guitariste de studio, travaillant avec de nombreux compositeurs et artistes variés… allant de Vladimir Cosma à Billy Preston.  Il sera aussi guitariste de studio et de scène avec Beverly Jo Scott et Pierre Rapsat.

Ayant toujours été fort attiré par la musique associée à l’image, il commence à composer et à produire des musiques de spots publicitaires grâce, entre autres à la confiance de Michel Perin et Patrick Van Hautem, réalisateurs et producteurs chez Zabriskie Films (Made In Brussels).  Nouveau défi très exigeant qui l’amène à développer bien d’autres styles musicaux et à travailler l’harmonie.

En 1994 parallèlement à la création de ZOO Productions et à l’installation de son studio d’enregistrement, Thierry Plas forme le groupe d’un seul album « The Responsibles » qui sera choisi par Robert Plant et Jimmy Page de Led Zeppelin pour assurer leur première partie en Europe.

Tout en continuant sa maison de production « son sur image », Thierry Plas devient directeur musical de Vaya Con Dios pour la tournée européenne de 1997, et sort également en 2000, un album intitulé « Purple Prose » avec Dani Klein, la voix de Vaya.

A partir des années 2000, il commence à travailler sur des documentaires et autres films d’entreprise et donc à développer avec plaisir ses aptitudes en tant que « sound designer ».

Actuellement, tout en continuant les habillages sonores pour la radio (Classic 21 par exemple)  et les musiques de films, Thierry Plas produit et mixe quelques albums d’artistes choisis. Un nouveau projet discographique et scénique verra le jour fin 2016, en collaboration avec Patrick Riguelle, chanteur et musicien très apprécié dans le nord du pays.

Sa musique

Chez General Score

Thierry est la fine lame de General Score.  Cofondateur de la société, c’est un orfèvre de la matière sonore, dont l’immense expérience rassemble tous les domaines de la création musicale :  composition, arrangement, orchestration, enregistrement, mixage, mastering, rapport à l’image.  Amoureux de la finesse et de l’élégance british, il est dans le groupe autant compositeur que maître-producteur.

L’univers de Thierry Plas

Tous
Showreel
Musicien
Studio
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch !
GENERAL'S NEWSLETTER
Let's keep in touch